A weekend worth spent (continued)

Continued from here.

Came Sunday morning and I was just not ready to get out of the bed (sheet). If I remember it correctly, it was about 6 am and we hardly slept for 4 hours. My friend tried a lot to wake me up, but I had no intention to open my eyes. He must’ve got frustrated, so he went away and got ready for the trek. A trek leader came and woke me up. Lethargically I came out and I noticed people preparing themselves for the trek. I thought I’d opt out. My friend told me everyone was going for the trek and it would be fun. He urged me to join them. The experience would be worth it, I reckoned. So I surrendered and got ready to visit Peth fort.

“One does not climb to attain enlightenment, rather one climbs because he is enlightened.”

“Getting to the top is optional. Getting down is mandatory.” – Ed Viesturs

It must’ve been about half an hour since we started trekking when I realized I should back out. I was feeling restless and I noticed that my shoes might ditch me if I’d go harsh on them 😦 I thought I’d find my way back as I was not too far from the village. I started descending. I had no idea about exact directions so I followed my instincts. After some time I realized I was officially lost 😐 There was no human in sight. All I could see was trees, bushes and mountains.

 “In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.” — John Muir

“Hiking alone lets me have some time to myself.” – Jamie Luner

 If this wasn’t enough, I was not carrying my phone. I was petrified for a moment. Senseless of direction I eagerly kept looking for the path where we came from. There was no way I could know for sure and then I saw a cow. Good omen, I thought. I decided to follow the cow. It may lead to a human. And so it did. There in the middle of the jungle was a villager. I was glad that he was there. I asked him for direction of the village and he pointed it out. It hadn’t been that long since I decided to return and I was feeling dizzy, but those moments awakened me. I wanted to get back to the base as soon as possible. I left hurriedly and kept sprinting in the direction he pointed out. After some time I could see some houses. It seemed like the village where we stayed last night. What a relief!

“After a day’s walk everything has twice its usual value.”  – George Macauley Trevelyan

 I reached the village and I tried to find the place that I left in the morning. But, to my dismay, it was some other place. I asked to a villager there and he told me that the village was nearby and he pointed me in a direction. I thanked him and started walking (or may be running) in that direction. I kept walking, but there was nothing nearby that seemed like a village. Fortunately, there were two guys on a bike going down the road and I thought it was safe to keep going on. I kept walking and within a few minutes I could see those guys who opted out for trekking. I was so relieved to see them. Getting lost will help you find yourself. That’s what I read somewhere and I guess it is kinda true because I felt it. I couldn’t be more thankful 🙂

After returning, I resorted to the novel I was carrying with me. Murder on the orient express by Agatha Chrisite. Relaxing by the door side of the village house enjoying the breeze while reading the novel was something I didn’t anticipate, but I did enjoy it. The atmosphere, the view, the quietness, and Agatha Christie’s words were effective enough to lull me. I was in a state of trance and it must’ve been around 10.30 am when my friend woke me up. Those guys had returned from trekking. We had our lunch and then we bid our goodbyes to the village. Descend was quite easy and it didn’t take quite long for us to reach back to the base.

The civilized man has built a coach, but has lost the use of his feet.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“It is not the mountain we conquer, but ourselves.” – Edmund Hillary

“We live in a fast-paced society.  Walking slows us down.” – Robert Sweetgall

“Thoughts come clearly while one walks.”  – Thomas Mann

 Tumtums dropped us at Karjat station. I bid adios to my new friends with a hope to meet again. On my return journey to Pune, I was accompanied by two travelers. We boarded Chennai express only to realize that it was better if we gave it a pass (like I did with the movie). There wasn’t enough place to stand, let alone sit. Sinhagad express was about to arrive 15 minutes after it and we decided to wait for it. Then arrived our awaited ride and we boarded it. The situation was no better than it was in Chennai express except that there was just enough space for us to stand in the coach. Unwillingly we embarked upon our return journey with a craving to get rest.

The journey would’ve been a hell lot of boring if I didn’t have any company. We were completely unknown to each other. But, that was the best part I guess. There were enough things to talk about that would make our journey less boring and more interesting. We chatted during the entire journey and at last we got ourselves a seat! It seemed a luxury at that moment 🙂 We bid goodbyes to each other when we reached our respective stations.

I came to this trip alone, but I returned with memories, experiences and new friends! It was a weekend worth spent 🙂

Photo credits to Vaidehi Oak & Dhananjay Kumar. Thank you for these wonderful memories 🙂

If you enjoyed reading my posts, I’d love to hear from you. You can add a comment / send me a message.

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “A weekend worth spent (continued)

  1. The descriptions were apt and the writing in itself seemed to have a natural flow to it.. Surely time away from the rigmarole of the city life in the throes of nature always does one good!

    Like

Leave a comment.

